Xbox Wants You To Pay 24 To 40 Cents Per Hour To Stream Games You Bought
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Microsoft has begun testing Cloud Playtime purchases with Xbox Insiders, letting eligible players pay for a limited number of hours to stream games they own. The introductory packs cost $4 for 10 hours, $8 for 25 hours or $12 for 50 hours; the game purchase is generally separate, and Microsoft has not announced a wider release date.

Microsoft has started testing paid Cloud Playtime packs with Xbox Insiders, allowing players to stream eligible games they own for a set number of hours. The introductory offers cost $4 for 10 hours, $8 for 25 hours or $12 for 50 hours—about 24 to 40 cents per hour—and generally sit on top of the price of the game itself.

The packs provide 10, 25 or 50 hours of cloud streaming, with the largest pack offering the lowest hourly rate. Microsoft describes the prices as “introductory launch pricing,” so the source report does not establish whether these rates will remain in place after the test or at a broader launch. According to Ars Technica, the purchases are now available to Xbox Insiders.

Microsoft says purchased playtime remains available until it is used, rather than expiring after a set period. The packs require a player to own a cloud-playable game, or to have access to a select free-to-play title, according to Microsoft. The hours buy streaming access, not the game itself; players who need to purchase the game pay that cost separately.

The offer differs from cloud access included with Xbox Game Pass, which, according to the report, provides subscribers with a few hours of monthly streaming access to hundreds of games as part of their subscription. The new packs are an a la carte option for non-subscribers, but the source material does not specify the full list of eligible games, supported devices or any limits beyond the purchased hours.

At a glance
updateWhen: Rolled out to Xbox Insiders in October…
The developmentMicrosoft rolled out a test of pay-as-you-go Xbox cloud gaming hours for Insiders, with introductory prices ranging from about 24 to 40 cents per hour.
Top Steam deals right now
The Walking Dead: The Telltale Definitive Series-90%$4.99
Cyberpunk 2077-70%$17.99
Grand Theft Auto V Enhanced-50%$14.99
Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty-40%$17.99
Gray Zone Warfare-35%$25.99
Resident Evil Requiem-30%$48.99
RuneScape: Dragonwilds-30%$20.99
over the hill-20%$19.99
Live · Steam store (current discounts)

Streaming Adds a Second Game Cost

The pricing introduces a metered cost after purchase for players who want to stream eligible titles rather than run them locally. At the lowest listed rate, a 50-hour pack costs $12; at the highest, a 10-hour pack costs $4. Those figures may look modest in isolation, but the total cost can include both the game and the streaming time.

That structure matters most to players without suitable local hardware or those who value access across supported devices. For them, the packs could offer a way to play without a Game Pass subscription, but the value depends on how often they stream, what the game costs and whether the available hours cover their play sessions. The test also signals a different model from an all-you-can-play subscription: cloud access is sold as a finite allowance.

Amazon

Xbox cloud gaming controller

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Game Pass to Hour Packs

In September, Microsoft said non-subscribers would soon be able to purchase cloud playtime hours through the Xbox Store and stream eligible games they own on supported devices. The Insider rollout described by Ars Technica is the implementation of that plan. The reported source does not give a date for availability beyond the Insider test.

The model also differs from Google Stadia, which allowed streaming of games purchased on its platform without a per-hour charge. Stadia purchases did not provide downloads for local play on a PC or console, and Google shut the service down in 2022. Google offered refunds for Stadia purchases when it closed. That history provides a comparison, but the services’ purchase and access terms were not the same.

““purchase cloud playtime hours through the Xbox Store and stream eligible games they own on supported devices.””

— Microsoft, as quoted in the Ars Technica report

Price and Availability Beyond Insiders

Microsoft has not, in the information cited by Ars Technica, announced when the test will expand or whether the packs will be offered to all Xbox users. The label “introductory” leaves open whether prices could change. The report also does not identify the full catalog of eligible games, the supported devices, or whether any other conditions apply to using purchased hours.

It is also not clear how many hours of streaming a typical player would need to make the packs a practical alternative to a subscription or local play. The published rates establish the cost of each pack, but not the total cost for any particular game or the overall value for different players.

Microsoft’s Next Test Milestones

For now, the confirmed rollout is limited to Xbox Insiders. The next useful updates would be Microsoft’s wider-release plans, final or continuing prices, and details on supported games and devices. Until Microsoft provides them, players outside the test cannot assume the packs are available to them or that the introductory rates will carry over unchanged.

Insiders considering a purchase can check the Xbox Store for the titles and terms shown in their region. Microsoft’s stated rule that hours remain available until used means players do not need to spend the allowance within a fixed expiry window, but they still need a qualifying game or select free-to-play access to use the service.

Key Questions

How much does Xbox Cloud Playtime cost in the test?

The introductory packs are $4 for 10 hours, $8 for 25 hours and $12 for 50 hours. That works out to about 40, 32 and 24 cents per hour, respectively.

Do the packs include the games?

No. Microsoft says the packs require a cloud-playable game purchase or access to a select free-to-play game. For most titles, the streaming hours are a separate cost from buying the game.

Do purchased streaming hours expire?

Microsoft says purchased playtime remains available until it is used. The source report does not describe a time limit for using the hours.

Can everyone buy Cloud Playtime now?

The reported rollout is to Xbox Insiders. Microsoft has not announced a general release date in the source material.

Are these prices permanent?

That is not confirmed. Microsoft calls them “introductory launch pricing,” but has not stated whether the rates will remain unchanged.

Source: hn

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Can Someone Please Explain Whether Cloudflare Blackmailed Canonical?

A recent cyberattack on Canonical raised questions about whether Cloudflare facilitated blackmail, as attackers used Cloudflare-bypassing tools while Canonical’s services also rely on Cloudflare.

OpenAI is reportedly preparing legal action against Apple; it wouldn’t be the first partner to feel burned

OpenAI is reportedly preparing legal steps against Apple due to frustrations over ChatGPT integration issues, signaling potential fallout in their partnership.

AION 2 Playtest Climbing The Steam Charts

AION 2’s recent playtest has surged in Steam player rankings, reaching 73,761 players and climbing to rank 39 on the platform’s most-played list.

Students, Questions, And AI: A Fresh Approach To Learning

An OpenAI page is titled “Teaching students to think and learn through questions,” but its unavailable text leaves its guidance and evidence unclear.