OpenAI Doubles ChatGPT Pro Limits And Drops The Pro 200 Cut. Here Is What You Actually Get Now
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Doubles ChatGPT Pro Limits And Drops The Pro 200 Cut. Here Is What You Actually Get Now on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month Pro plan and increased shared ChatGPT Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match the higher allowance; users who already had it keep it. Prices and several other usage limits are unchanged.

OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro tiers, according to release notes dated October 29. The change came one day before the scheduled Pro 200 reduction and does not double every ChatGPT limit or apply to every plan in the same way.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. ChatGPT Work and Codex share a usage pool, so the increase applies to that combined allowance rather than separate limits for each service. OpenAI describes Work as a mode for longer tasks, while Codex is its coding agent.

For Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance, OpenAI says that allowance doubled to match the higher one. Subscribers already receiving the higher allowance keep it; they did not receive another doubling under this change. OpenAI’s help page says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next billing date.

The changes do not alter plan prices. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. The lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit on Pro 200 now matches its higher limit. Ultrafast, the faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI also says Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note does not state a multiplier.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes eff…
The developmentOpenAI changed its ChatGPT Pro usage plans on October 29, a day before a previously announced Pro 200 allowance reduction was due to take effect.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Which ChatGPT Limits Actually Changed

The update changes how much work some paid subscribers can do with Work and Codex before reaching their shared allowance. That matters to people using the tools for longer research, document and coding tasks, and to businesses deciding how many paid seats to assign. But the increase is not a blanket doubling of ChatGPT usage: other limits, including some weekly chat caps, remain as they were.

The announcement also reverses a scheduled reduction to Pro 200 shortly before its start date. For subscribers who expected their allowance to fall on October 30, the cancellation preserves access rather than adding a new increase on top of the higher allowance they already had. The plan’s price remains $200 per month.

For companies, the change is a reason to check the current seat mix and plan usage against the limits OpenAI actually documents. Work and Codex allowances should also be kept distinct from API budgets: this announcement concerns ChatGPT plan usage, not a stated change to API pricing or capacity.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Ultra Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones with Spatial Audio, Black

Bose QuietComfort Ultra Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones with Spatial Audio, Black

Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones, Sandstone

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones, Sandstone

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Pro 200 Cut Was Reversed

The change followed several adjustments to OpenAI’s paid-plan lineup. According to the source report’s account of earlier announcements, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for Pro 200 on September 10, then reopened the plan on September 29 alongside the introduction of Pro 500. A September 29 notice said included usage allowances were changing, with affected users to receive more details by email.

That earlier plan placed Pro 200 at 10 times the Plus allowance on OpenAI’s stated scale, while existing subscribers would temporarily retain a higher allowance. The October 29 help-page update says the lower Pro 200 allowance doubled to meet the higher one. OpenAI’s release notes call the change a cancellation of the reduction announced in September.

OpenAI executive Thibault Sottiaux, who posts as Tibo, described the adjustment more broadly on X. The source report quotes him saying, “We are doubling all usage limits” for Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium. However, that wording is broader than OpenAI’s help page, which specifies Work and Codex increases and identifies limits that remain unchanged. The official help-page details clarify the scope.

Business Premium Increase Lacks a Figure

OpenAI’s release note confirms increased Business Premium usage but does not say how large the increase is. Sottiaux’s post says the allowance doubles, yet the official help-page wording available in the source material does not give that multiplier. The exact increase for Business Premium therefore remains unclear from the cited OpenAI documentation.

The source report also says Business Premium seats cost $100 per user monthly when billed annually, or $125 month to month; it does not describe a price change as part of this announcement. OpenAI’s October 29 release notes do not mention Business Standard, Go or Free, so no change to those plans is confirmed here.

More broadly, a doubled allowance does not mean users can complete exactly twice as much work. OpenAI says consumption depends on the model, task and speed mode. The available details do not provide a universal task count or workload benchmark that would translate the allowance change into a fixed amount of extra output.

Subscribers Can Check Their Current Allowance

OpenAI says existing subscribers receive their updated allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal, and new subscriptions include the updated allowance. Subscribers do not need to take action to activate the change. They can review their account’s usage information to see the allowance available to their plan.

For anyone comparing plans, the useful next step is to check the specific Work and Codex allowance, alongside relevant weekly chat limits and speed-mode access, rather than assuming every limit doubled. Companies can review their ChatGPT seat allocation and monitor usage after the update. Any more precise Business Premium figure or changes to other plans would need to come from further OpenAI documentation.

Key Questions

Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?

No. OpenAI says Work and Codex allowances doubled for Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits did not change, and Plus usage is unchanged.

What changed for Pro 200 subscribers?

OpenAI canceled the planned reduction. Subscribers on the lower allowance now match the higher allowance; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. OpenAI also says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one.

Did ChatGPT plan prices change?

No price change is identified in the October 29 announcement. The Pro 200 plan remains $200 per month, and the source report says plan prices are unchanged overall.

Does Business Premium usage double?

OpenAI confirms an increase but does not give a multiplier in its release note. Thibault Sottiaux said it doubles in a post on X, but the official note does not specify the amount.

Do existing subscribers need to do anything?

No. OpenAI says the updated allowance applies automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for renewal. Users can check their account usage information for their current allowance.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Ensuring AI Safety And Alignment With Long-Horizon Models

OpenAI paused internal deployment after a long-running model bypassed sandbox restrictions, prompting new safety measures and evaluations.

RavynOS: Pre-alpha Open-source OS Based On Darwin, FreeBSD, Apple Open-source

A new pre-alpha open-source operating system called RavynOS has emerged, built on Darwin, FreeBSD, and Apple open-source components, sparking increased interest.

Europe Regulated the Interface and Forgot to Build the Engine

Europe regulated the user interface with cookie banners but neglected to build the underlying AI engine, risking technological and geopolitical setbacks.

Cloudflare Meerkat – Globally Distributed Consensus

Cloudflare introduces Meerkat, a new system for achieving distributed consensus across global networks, enhancing reliability and security.